Trenton EP Stream (and more)

Everything you needed to know about the Trenton EP is now in one post!


Here is the Trenton Project Crowdfunding Campaign Video :

* You can see the successful Trenton Project Crowdfunding campaign page here.


Here is the Trenton EP EPK :


Listen to the Trenton EP :

Song List :

1. Introduction

2. This Town

3. Look In The Mirror

4. A Conversation

5. Your Hometown

6. Lament

7. Arise / Alive


Trenton EP – A Guide

The EP starts off with ‘Introduction’. I wanted to lay the groundwork for the EP right away, painting a picture with radio broadcasts I would hear growing up in Trenton. Each news report always seemed a little less positive with each broadcast. Musically, I liked the idea of Simon and Garfunkel’s ‘Silent Night/7 O’Clock News’ but where S&G are singing a Christmas tune against the news of the day, I wanted more chaos in the background. The opening lyric to ‘This Town’ almost sounds like a call to arms (I’m gonna sing about this town / ’cause no one else does). Love the guitar work from Jason Mingo and the change in the drum tempo from Kev Corbett. I wrote ‘Look In The Mirror’ with the intention of making it sound like a preacher giving a sermon from the pulpit. When times get tough, people look to a higher power for guidance or explanation. The first verse sounds more like a parishioner asking ‘Why?’ but no answers are coming. I’m not a person of faith so I never understood why people would thank someone for good things but never point the finger and say ‘why did YOU do nothing?’. In the last verse I ask the questions. ‘A Conversation’ could be many things : talking to a younger version of yourself, breaking tough news to a friend, coming to terms with a situation. It could be something more. For the feel of the song, I always like the spoken word songs of Lou Reed (‘Beginning Of A Great Adventure’, ‘Last Great American Whale’). For ‘Your Hometown’, I think the first line of the song (let’s go back to your hometown / light one match / burn it all to the ground) pretty much sets the tone for the song. In a sense the town is scorched earth, without the fire. The railway plant buildings are still standing, but if there is nothing happening, does it make a difference? When I finished writing ‘Lament’, I knew this was the big, epic song I wanted for the EP. I knew there had to be one song that outgrew the simple chords. I had the first line (the rails run through my veins / and the forge is the beat of my heart) early and I knew it was something. Something very big. The song demands a large symphonic sound. Every person who had heard the song in the early stages said it was an epic sounding tune. The last song ‘Arise/Alive’ is a bookend song. You always want a strong song to start and end each music project. When I had the all the songs written, I wanted to put the songs in sequence and I knew this would be the last song. It’s a nice ending tune to wrap up the EP. There’s optimism and hope. The cello from Julia Feltham is a nice intro to the song and comes in at the right time during the bridge, while the organ to let the song fade out feels good. The End.

One thought on “Trenton EP Stream (and more)

  1. Pingback: Kickstarter blues: Veronica Mars, Amanda Palmer and some complications with crowdfunding | McNutt Against the Music

Leave a Reply